Interviewing Eva Abley

Today I am going to be interviewing Eva Abley – the now sixteen-year old comedian with cerebral palsy who came fifth place in the fifteenth series of Britain’s Got Talent in 2022. I was fortunate enough to meet Eva last year at a residential activity camp after following her Instagram for years (I will admit it took me embarrassingly long to realise how I knew her, I was just staring thinking “you look so familiar”) and was even treated to an exclusive comedy performance at said camp. This year, Eva has taken her career to the next level and has come out with an autobiography called ‘The Good, The Bad and The Wobbly’ in which she shares a refreshingly honest and heartfelt reflection of her life thus far.

What inspired you to write this book? Is it something you’ve always wanted to do or was there something that sparked the idea to write an early year’s autobiography?

It’s not something I have ever thought about it doing but I always wanted to help others who may or is suffering the loneliness and sadness i felt living with a disability. I thought that if by writing the book and sharing my journey I could possibly help one person it’s all been worth it. Don’t get me wrong it’s because of my disability and the fact I use comedy to break down barriers is why i have so many opportunities of the last couple of years. The book has allowed me to show the real me and not everything is as happy as you see in shows like BGT. People struggle behind a smile sometimes, and I Just wanted to show people that they are not alone and there is always light at the end of the tunnel. I didn’t want the book to be all doom and gloom because I have had an amazing life, with an amazing family. I have met some truly amazing inspirational people along the journey too. I wanted the book to take you on a journey of my life, Struggles, Happiness, Loneliness, Excitement and always comedy.

You’re obviously used to writing your own comedy and while your book is very comedic, did you find it just as easy to start writing your book or was it something a bit more challenging in terms of getting used to writing in that way?

I have performed in front of thousands at the apollo and palladium including thousands more on TV, but I can honestly say writing the book was the most difficult thing I have ever done. Putting my life on paper is harder than it sounds, having to re live all the sad parts in my life but the good parts def outweighed them so it did get easier. It’s easy to take the mickey out of yourself so that bit was easy. You realise when you sit back and brainstorm the support you have had from family and friends that at the time you took for granted.

The book is quite personal and while there are a lot of highs and funny moments, there are also some really vulnerable parts of your life that you share in this that are actually quite harrowing to experience as a reader. Were there any moments or stories in particular within the book that you were hesitant to write about and what made you ultimately decide to share them?

Chapter 13 without question the hardest to sit down and write. I look back now and wonder how on earth I could even consider making that journey to the train station with one thing on my mind. How could I put my family through what I did, why would I think they would be mad and all they wanted to do was give me a big cuddle. I thought long and hard about including this chapter, did I really want to share this with anyone, could it be mine, my family, and the police officer’s big secret. Mental health is a real thing and many young people like me have suffered with it, I included this chapter so that other people struggling realise that they are loved, family is everything and its ok not to be ok.

The whole Abley family features a lot in your book, what were their reactions to you initially wanting to write something so personal to all of you? And how did they find reading the finished product?

Mom and Dad have always been supportive of everything I have done, and this was no exception. They know how strong minded I am when I decide I want to do something. A bit like when my dad tried to talk me out of doing the talent show at Monkey tree holiday park which has ultimately changed my life.

They questioned why I wanted to put all the personal stuff in the book I explained that this was part of me and what’s made me the strong person I am today. My brothers on the other hand were a different story who used the book to lean their phones against whilst they watched Netflix. When the final draft was complete you could have filled the bath with the number of tears of laughter and emotion.

And did they have much involvement in the writing process or was this more something you did completely yourself?

No, my dad’s great at putting fires out but not one to write books he would just get too emotional. My mom’s good at this kind of stuff but she is so busy, so I sought help from a very good friend of mine a man called David Tristram, he’s a local comedy writer how has been mentoring me since my appearance on BGT. I would spend hours and hours with David and with his help we put the book together. He is an amazing man and one that I can say is a true friend.

You are donating all the profits of your book to Birmingham Children’s Hospital. Can you share a bit about why you decided to do this?

I’ve been going to the children’s hospital since birth and the treatment/support I have had has been amazing. I have already raised £17,000 for the charity when i arranged a ball with some of my fellow BGT friends and wanted to continue raising money. I can honestly say there is no better feeling in the world than doing something that will help others.

You’re only 16 and you’ve already written a book and also recently filmed a documentary with the BBC – The book chronicles this but in the end, you discuss craving a more stereotypical teenage experience (going to university, driving, getting a job). Do you think comedy is going to take a backseat in your future or can we still expect to see you on stages and screens?

It’s a really difficult question, I think comedy will always be a big part of my life because it’s such a buzz. I’ve recently been doing lots of motivational talks incorporating some of my comedy which has been amazing. I recently appeared on Sky news for FYI doing a documentary about living with a disability. As it alludes to in the book, I’m still trying to spread the kindness around schools doing my presentation, which has recently been produced professionally which we are hoping will reach schools throughout the country, I had a meeting with the Educational Secretary Gillian Keegan so watch this space on that one.
Regarding normal teenage years, I have a place at college in September where I’m really hoping to meet some friends that has been missing in my life thus far. Regarding the stage I can say never because if you have experienced it, you know what I mean, it’s like when Billy Elliott says he feels electric. Something comes over you and it’s just amazing.



Eva, thank you so much for featuring on my blog – what an honour to speak to you. I do have one final question, where can people find you on social media and where can they purchase your book as after reading this, they must be desperate to get their hands on it?

My book is available from http://www.evaabley.com

Instagram: eva_abley

Thank you so much for letting me share my book on your blog, it’s such an honour.

Keep Smiling

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started